RUET celebrates 17th founding anniversary

মোঃ সোহাগ আলী মোঃ সোহাগ আলী

রাজশাহী বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়

প্রকাশিত: ৯:১৮ অপরাহ্ণ, সেপ্টেম্বর ১, ২০২০

Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (RUET) has celebrated its 17th founding anniversary and University Day amid festivity.

The official part of the founding anniversary began with the hoisting of the national flag and university flag in front of the administrative building of the university at 10:00 am on Tuesday.

- Advertisement -

Afterwards, Vice-Chancellor Professor Rafiqul Islam Sekh inaugurated the day-long program by flying balloons, festoons and pigeons. Later, floral wreaths were laid at the graves of the martyred students of the university and graves were visited. On the occasion of the day, tree planting program, poster presentation and innovation project idea contest with the participation of students on the virtual platform and special prayers were held at the Central Jame Mosque after Zohar for the progress of RUET and welfare of the nation.

Prof. Md Selim Hossain, Register of the University , Prof. Md Rabiul Awal, President of the University Day Celebration Committee and Director of Student Welfare, Prof. Iqbal Matin, Md. Zahurul Islam Sarkar, Dean of the ECE faculty, Prof. Md Farooq Hossain, President of the Teachers Association, Mia Md. Jaglul Sadat, General Secretary of the Teachers Association, SM Zahurul Islam, Head of the Department of Architecture were present among others.
Incidentally, the institution started its journey in December 1964 with 122 students under the name of Rajshahi College of Engineering. At the time of its establishment, it was a faculty of engineering under Rajshahi University. In 1986, it was transformed into the Bangladesh Institute of Technology (BIT). In order to increase the demand for engineering education at home and abroad and to create opportunities for higher degrees and research in engineering, Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology started its journey on September 1, 2003 as a full-fledged engineering university.